The Legal Aid Council is made up of the Governing Council, which sets out policy, and the Management, which implements the policy. The Governing Council consists of 15 Members appointed by the President. The Director-General is the Chief Executive Officer of the Council and is responsible for the day-to-day running of the affairs of the Council.

The Headquarters is based in Abuja and consists of the following departments:

·        Criminal Justice

·        Civil Justice

·        Human Resource Management

·        Finance and Accounts

·        International Operations and Corporate Affairs

·        Planning, Research and Statistics.

Each of these departments is headed by a departmental head, reporting directly to the Director-General.

The Council equally has Units headed by Unit Heads reporting directly to the Director-General.

·      Prison Decongestion

·      Servicom

·      Audit

·      Procurement

·      Press

The Legal Aid Council has state offices in all the 36 states of the Federation including the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja. To facilitate its work and ensure enhanced co-ordination it has Zonal Officers in each of the 6 geo-political zones.

A Zonal Director, who reports to the Director-General in Abuja, heads each of the 6 zones. State Coordinators, who are responsible to their respective Zonal Directors, head the states under each zone.

The Council is currently in the process of establishing Legal Aid Centres in all local government areas within the Federation. Presently their already exists Legal Aid Centres in 16 States and 2 in the FCT.